How do you “keep on keeping on”?

Standard

I’d really like some responses to this.

I am having trouble (already) sticking with this whole ridiculous writing dream thing. It’s such a hard business and damaging to the ego. Seeing people that have far more exposure than I do, far more Facebook likes, far more advertising and budget, have an agent- STRUGGLE- how in the blue hell am *I* supposed to make a name for myself? Let’s just throw this out there too: EL James is worth 15 million dollars. 15 MILLION.

How do you know that you are good enough or even have the potential to be good enough? The unfortunate thing is that you have to be judged by someone else in order to “know” that.

I find myself having anxiety and near panic attacks thinking about it.

KEEP CALM AND (do what)?

2 thoughts on “How do you “keep on keeping on”?

  1. I spent many years writing before I ever managed to get a book published – I thnk what kept me going was the writing itself rather than worrying too much about publication and success and so on. I think if you aim to make the writing as good as it can be, work hard at it, be honest with yourself about your failings and successes, then it becomes enough in itself. My novel was published last year by a small publisher, but if it hadn’t been I would have still been writing just as I am now!

  2. Sean Kelly

    I would agree with the above comment, being honest with yourself about your writing is very important. I have yet to be published ( “yet” is me being entirely over confident in myself) but I know that I have interesting ideas that I feel will lead me to writing many great stories. That, however, doesn’t stop me from looking at my work and going, “something’s just not right here.”
    I have some close friends though, that in my entirely honest opinion aren’t extremely good writers or aren’t unique with their story telling, but have been published, albeit not best sellers. But how come my story hadn’t been recognized when theirs had? I honestly have no idea, but I have a bad habit of not getting demoralized by much. So when I get that dreaded rejection letter, I toss it in a folder and move on, if it has ideas for improvement, I’ll read it, otherwise I just move on.
    Support of friends is essential to me as well, those who have read my work and said it’s really good (and yeah they’re friends, but some are fellow writers who know about constructive criticism) really give me that drive to keep going. That and writing a dozen separate stories at once keeps me entertained, it’s a bad habit, but I’m always writing something.

Leave a Reply

